Who's in the Burrow?

SBA's Larusson Awarded Far West Nordic Scholarship

Congratulations to SBA senior Katrin Larusson, this year's recipient of The Far West Nordic Ski Association's annual Ted Beauchamp Scholarship. SBA Head Nordic Coach Jeff Schloss supplied the following report of Larusson's selection by FWNSA coaches. 
"The Far West Nordic Ski Association just announced that Katrin Larusson has been awarded the Ted Beauchamp Scholarship for 2013. This scholarship is given annually to a Far West Junior Nordic skier who exhibits a great passion for Nordic ski racing, is a dedicated athlete who has the desire and ability to compete at the National level, and has a character that is a credit to the Far West Nordic community. Katrin is a senior at Sugar Bowl Academy and has been at the top of her age group in ski racing for the past five years. Katrin has been a medalist at the US Junior National Championships in each of the last four years and has been the California/Nevada High School State Champion for the last two seasons. The scholarship is one of the highest honors that a junior Nordic ski racer can achieve in the Far West Division. The Ted Beauchamp Scholarship was set up in 1995 to honor the memory of long time Far West Nordic Board member Ted Beauchamp. Ted gave tirelessly to help kids excel in the sport he loved, and Katrin is a perfect young person to honor Ted’s name. Katrin loves ski racing and training, and one of her greatest gifts is her ability to mentor other athletes. She has taken numerous younger skiers under her wing and helped propel them to become the best they can be. Katrin plans to continue her ski racing career as an NCAA racer next year, but hasn’t decided which school it will be. Whichever college is lucky enough to get her will be acquiring a dedicated ski racer who will give her all every day, and will most likely be near the top of the pack in every race. She is someone Far West can be very proud of as she makes her way out into the larger ski racing world." - SBA Head Nordic Coach Jeff Schloss